Cafeteria Game, A Treatise

Those who’ve read previous posts on this blog may have noticed that, rather than street game or night game, the majority of my recent experience deals in what I dub as “Cafeteria game”, a low-pressure, socially calibrated (mostly) type of game possible while in college. Best of all, I have to do it1 anyway so it locks me into improving (or seeing the need for improvement of) my social skills.

The basic idea of College Cafeteria Game is as follows:

  1. After grabbing food I walk around the seating area(s) of the cafeteria I’m in, looking for a person or group to join.
  2. I sit down with one of the best options in the food court and introduce myself.
  3. I make the girl swoon with perfect verbal game and take her back to my place right after.

That last part is a tiny exaggeration, but the principle holds well. There are some downsides to this game, however. The devil lies in the details.

Finding an attractive girl to sit with who isn’t on the phone/laptop, isn’t almost done eating, isn’t at a tiny table too small for me to join with food, and isn’t with a group of people is a rare miracle to find. I often sit with guys as a result, snubbing my own romantic chances but making potential friends in the process.

Another difficult part about this type of game is that it’s hard to start polarizing conversations or initiate touch. I usually wait until I notice enough IOIs from a girl to seriously consider anything, which is a failure on my part; on the plus side, I am getting higher rates of IOIs now with strong eye contact. Unfortunately, flake rates are fairly high as well, due in part to my busy-student schedule preventing me from meeting up soon enough to keep a lead warm.

Finally, it’s difficult to pull a girl anywhere or suggest one of my default dates2 (unless we really clicked). We just ate dinner together. What more can we do? The dynamic set up by meeting at dinner also lights up the “provider” vibes and lowers the “player” vibes a girl gets from me, making me more likely to find myself in the “friend” category. This isn’t helped by the fact that I’m both inept and unconfident at making a conversation sexual (in undertones or otherwise). That needs to be a frame I set earlier on with joking and playful misinterpretation.

Lastly, as I’ve recently become less and less impressed that a girl has x skills or y interests, I’ve come to realize just how boring so many girls and their lives are, and how strong the pull of social media and that ilk are on their mental circuits. I’m worried about the kind of field it will be in 10 years when I’m in my prime, where girls will get their best stimulation from VR-headsets and simultaneous electronic self-stimulation, thus eliminating adventure sex from the equation for all but the married, the older folks, and those who go against the grain of our technological culture.

______________________________________
1: This school year I made myself the challenge to sit with someone any time I go and sit in a food court on campus; this forces me to save time (by taking the food to go) or to seek out someone to try a conversation with, the latter of which encourages me to do cafeteria game while I’m at it.
2: Usually to get coffee or go out for dinner (at a campus eatery). Going to try suggesting movies at my place as well.

Author: NightRoller

Learning, growing game practitioner. Find me at https://nightrollergame.wordpress.com/

One thought on “Cafeteria Game, A Treatise”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started